Win-tervals. (Wine + Intervals :) )

20130530_202922--4

I wouldn’t have thought it was generally recommended to do a track session after having a couple of glasses of wine, but I really needed to get out this evening and get at least some sort of run done, so why not make it a track run?!

I went up to the track in the school playing field very close to where I live (see the photo above from a test flight of my quadrocopter a couple of months ago).  The track’s on grass so it’s nice and gentle on the legs (at least as gentle as a track session can be), and with it being school holidays the area it usually deserted.

I kept the session the same as last time (warm up, then 8 x 400m with 2 minutes rest in between).  I use a Garmin (310XT) so my times are logged, and last week and today I set the watch up to measure the 400m thinking it would be accurate enough.  But today I learnt that it’s not quite there and I really should use the track markings.  Laps 5 recorded on the Garmin was too short this time round so it should really be ignored.  At least I know for next time.

Lap Times

Anyway, my track times for the last two weeks are as follows:

Date Lap 1 Lap 2 Lap 3 Lap 4 Lap 5 Lap 6 Lap 7 Lap 8
31st July 2013 86 88 88 95 90 95 93 93
7th August 2013 87 87 91 92 81* 89 91 93

Lap times are in seconds
* denotes suspicious lap (Garmin got the distance wrong)

I’m fairly pleased with that.  Considering how prepared I was for this set of 8 reps I thought it would be a bit of a disaster, but it’s actually fractionally faster (even taking into account the dodgy lap) this time round.  No massive improvement but a steady result.

What’s Next?

Well, I’ve already noticed my considerable lack of consistency which I’d like to address, and work over the next month to get my weekly mileage to between about 20 and 30 miles per week.  I’ve got a long run planned for this coming Monday (which will be between about 22 and 29 miles), so I’ll try and get 2 more gentle, easy runs in between now and Saturday to start to work on consistency.

Leave a Reply

